Right to Information Act

The Right to Information Bill was introduced in the Lok Sabha in December 2004. It was passed by both houses of Parliament in May 2005. The assent of the President was received on 15th June and the Act was notified in The Gazette of India on 21st June. The Right to Information Act has become operational by the 12th October 2005 after the completion of 120 days from the date of Presidential assent. The Freedom of Information Act passed by Parliament in 2002 has been repealed.

Bringing Information to the Citizens :

Right to Information Act 2005 mandates timely response to citizen requests for government information. It is an initiative taken by Department of Personnel and Training, Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions to provide a– RTI  Portal Gateway to the citizens for quick search of information on the details of first Appellate Authorities, PIOs   etc. amongst others, besides access to RTI related information / disclosures published on the web by various Public Authorities under the government of India as well as the State Governments.

Constitution of RTI Cells in Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti

(A) Regional Office, Shillong Level :

1 Sh.Raghuvendra Kumar, Assistant Commissioner (Admn),  Phone No.0364-2503054 Public Information Officer (PIO)
2 Sh. B.D Ram, Section Officer,  Phone No. 0364-2502568 Asstt. Public Information Officer (APIO)
3 Dr. D.S Kumar ,  Deputy Commissioner, Phone No. 0364-2500331 Appellate Authority

(B) Vidyalaya Level :

1 Principal of the concerned JNV Public Information Officer (PIO)
2 Vice Principal of the concerned JNV or Sr. Most Teacher where Vice Principal is not posted Asstt. Public Information Officer (APIO)
3 Dr. D.S Kumar , Deputy Commissioner Appellate Authority

(C) Headquarters Level :

At Hqrs. following PIOs are designated as per subject matter/section wise :

S.No Name & Designation Subject matter relating to
1 Sh. S. Chandrasekaran, Assistant Commissioner (Trg) All matters pertaining to JNVST & Training
2 Sh. T. Surya Prakash, Section officer(Admn) All matters relating to Hqrs staff & officers
3 Dr. K. Bhavanarayana, Assistant Commissioner (Acad) All Academic matters
4 Sh. S. Chandrasekaran, Assistant Commissioner (Trg) (till such time the regular incumbent reports to duty) All matters pertaining to School Administation
5 Sh. B.C. Panda, Assistant Commissioner (E-I) All matters related to the Vidyalaya teaching and non teaching staff
6 Sh. D.C Verma, Assistant Commissioner (E-III) All matters  related to Principals and Vice Principals
7 Sh. S.B. Sharma, Assistant Commissioner (Audit) All matters of finance & Audit wing
8 Ms. Veena Sharma, Assistant Commissioner (GA) All matters pertaining to General Administration of NVS Hq including policy matters like gratuity, pension,NPS
Sh. R. Sawhney, Assistant Engineer All matters pertaining to construction wing
10 DDO Hqr Pay & allowance and allied matters of NVS HQ. staff


Joint Commissioner (Admn.) has been designated as First Appellate Authority to dispose off appeals preferred by the appellant against the information provided by the aforementioned Public Information Officers (PIOs) in cases related to NVS (Hqrs.).

There is no second appellate authority in the Samiti.